Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now

Field Hockey Wins Big Ten, 25th Conference Title

Terps Take on Albany In NCAA Tournament Friday

By Maryland Athletics Staff

B1G Champs

Photo by John Konstantaras

Maryland won its 25th conference tournament championship with a 2-1 win over Iowa.

EVANSTON, Ill. – The top-seeded and second-ranked Maryland field hockey team (19–2) beat Iowa 2-1 yesterday in a windy and wet Big Ten Tournament championship game at Northwestern University.
With the win, Maryland has now won 12 conference tournament titles and 25 total conference championships, including regular season titles. The Terps clinched their 24th straight NCAA Tournament appearance, dating back to 1995.
"I really couldn't be more proud of our team," head coach Missy Meharg said. "The conditions took heart, grit and patience. We had great structure in the second half and sustained a lot of attack from Iowa, which was commendable. Our backfield of Hannah Bond, Bodil Keus, Nike Lorenz and Sarah Holliday were in the battle and held on to the ball really well.”
Junior Madison Maguire put the Terrapins on the board just 5:39 into the match when she brought the ball into the circle and slammed one home. The two teams held each other mostly at bay in the in first 35 minutes.
Maryland held a 1–0 lead at the half.
Big Ten Freshman of the Year Bibi Donraadt doubled the Terps' lead just over 6:00 into the second half. Senior Linnea Gonzales passed her the ball at the top of the circle and Donraadt sent in a reverse chip shot to make it 2–0.
Just under 4:00 later, the Hawkeyes chipped into the Terrapins' lead with when Katie Birch scored off a penalty corner to make it 2–1 with 24:26 to play.
Iowa continued to threaten through the rest of the game, but senior goalkeeper Sarah Holliday made three saves in the second half to preserve the win. She finished with five saves.
Gonzales and sophomore Hannah Bond were voted to the All-Tournament Team, and Gonzales was named Tournament MVP.

Gonzales was named Big Ten Player of the Year, sophomore Bodil Keus was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and Donraadt was voted Big Ten Freshman of the Year Wednesday. Keus and Gonzales made the All-Big Ten First Team, junior Nike Lorenz made the All-Big Ten Second Team and senior Olivia Reiter was recognized with a Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.
The No. 2-seed Terrapins will take on Albany this Friday in round 1 of the NCAA tournament.




Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.