Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now
Campus & Community

Faculty and Staff Accolades

A Roundup of Recent Awards and Accomplishments

By Maryland Today Staff

animated red, white, black and gold arrow running across image of Armory

Animation by Maryland Today staff

Below are awards and honors University of Maryland faculty and staff have earned since mid-February:

Norma Allewell, professor emerita in the Department of Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics, was named a fellow of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

Victor Basili, a professor emeritus of computer science, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the IEEE Computer Society Technical Community on Software Engineering for shaping the field of empirical software engineering; he also received Unico National’s Marconi Science Award for his groundbreaking work in computer programming.

The Daily Record named Gloria Aparicio Blackwell, director of community engagement to its 2023 list of Maryland’s Top 100 Women. It recognizes outstanding achievements by women demonstrated through professional accomplishments, community leadership and mentoring.

Vice President for Research Gregory F. Ball received the 2023 Society for Behavioral Neuroendocrinology Lifetime Achievement Award for his research exploring the endocrine, social and environmental controls of reproductive behavior, primarily in birds.

Eliza Bowden, Dining Services’ catering executive sous chef, won a silver medal for her “Japanese Trio of Pork” at the American Culinary Association-sanctioned competition at the Spring National Association of College and University Food Services Conference. She was the sole female chef selected to participate.

The Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication History Division named Ira Chinoy, associate professor of journalism, a winner of the 2023 Jinx Coleman Broussard Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Media History.

Michel Cukier, director of the Advanced Cybersecurity Experience for Students (ACES) undergraduate Honors College program and a professor of reliability engineering, received a University System of Maryland Board of Regents Faculty Award for Excellence in Mentoring.

Siddhartha Das, associate professor of mechanical engineering, was named an “Emerging Investigator” by the journal Soft Matter.

Betty Duke, clinical professor of public policy and Norman and Florence Brody Family Foundation Public Policy Forum Professor, was among nine inductees chosen for this year’s Government Hall of Fame, which recognizes individuals who have made historic achievements in service to the federal government and the American people.

Drew S. Fagan, associate clinical professor and TESOL program coordinator at the College of Education, received the 2023 TESOL Teacher of the Year Award from TESOL International Association, the world’s largest association of English language educators. It is the top teaching honor in the field of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL).

Ronald Gamble Jr., a visiting assistant research scientist in the Department of Astronomy, was part of the “Black in Astro” team that won the Royal Astronomical Society’s 2023 Annie Maunder Medal.

History Professor Julie Greene was appointed editor of Labor: Studies in Working-Class History.

Shay Hakani, associate professor of history, received the Korenblat Book Award in Israel Studies as well as the Concordia University Library Azrieli Institute of Israeli Studies’ Best Book in Israeli Studies Award. Both recognized his book, “Dear Palestine: A Social History of the 1948 War.”

The White House Council on Environmental Quality tapped Associate Professor of Urban Studies and Planning Marccus Hendricks to serve as a senior advisor for climate and community resilience on the inaugural Environmental Justice team.

Electrical and computer engineering Professor Alireza Khaligh was named an IEEE Featured Author “for his research contributions to power conversion and transportation electrification.”

Professor Emeritus of Computer Science Samir Khuller and Ming Lin, Distinguished University Professor and the Barry Mersky and Capital One Professor, were elected to the Board of Directors of the Computing Research Association.

Peter Leone, a professor emeritus of special education, was awarded the 2023 Leadership Prize by the Juvenile Law Center for decades of research on educational services for youths with disabilities in institutional settings and for those excluded from schools.

Psychology Associate Professor Ethan Mereish was awarded the 36th Annual Early Career Investigator Award by the Research Society on Alcohol.

Jared Mezzocchi, associate professor and co-director of the Maya Brin Institute for New Performance in the School of Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies, received an Obie Award, honoring work from the 2020–22 seasons. Presented by the American Theatre Wing, the Obie Awards celebrate Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway work.

“Human-Centered AI,” a book by computer science Emeritus Professor Ben Shneiderman, was recognized by the Association of American Publishers with the Professional and Scholarly Excellence (PROSE) award in the category of computing and information sciences.

Jelena Srebric, Margaret G. and Frederick H. Kohloss Chair Professor in Mechanical Engineering, won a Best Paper Award 2021-2022 from the journal ACS Environmental Au as a co-author of a study on reducing airborne virus transmission during musical performances.

Mechanical engineering Associate Professor Ryan D. Sochol was honored as an inaugural “Rising Star” in the journal Advanced Materials Technologies.

Laura Stapleton, chair of the Department of Human Development and Quantitative Methodology and professor of measurement, statistics and evaluation, was named a 2023 American Educational Research Association fellow.

Lisa Taneyhill, professor in the Department of Animal and Avian Sciences, was named a Fellow of the American Association for Anatomy.

Konstantina Trivisa, professor of mathematics and director of the Institute for Physical Science and Technology, was selected as a fellow of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, in recognition of outstanding contributions to analysis of nonlinear partial differential equations, exemplary service and excellence in mentoring of students and postdocs.

Electrical and computer engineering Professor and Chair Sennur Ulukus was appointed to the NextG Alliance Research Council, which is part of an effort to promote North American wireless technology through private-sector-led efforts.

Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.