Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now
Campus & Community

Faculty and Staff Accolades

A Roundup of Recent Awards and Accomplishments

By Maryland Today Staff

Trophy illustrration

Illustration by Ryumi Sung

Below are some of the awards and honors University of Maryland faculty and staff have earned since spring:

Animal and avian sciences Professor Roselina Angel was recognized with the 2021 Poultry Science Association Distinguished Poultry Industry Career Award from the U.S. Poultry & Egg Association.

Thomas Antonsen, professor of electrophysics in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, received the 2022 IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award.

Gah-Yi Ban, associate professor in the Department of Decision, Operations and Information Technologies, won the 2021 Best Operations Management paper in Operations Research from the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences.

The National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine appointed William Bowerman, professor and chair of the Department of Environmental Science and Technology and vice chair of the Ornithological Council, to serve on the new Standing Committee for the Care and Use of Animals in Research.

Ira Chinoy, associate professor in the Philip Merrill College of Journalism, received the 2021 American Journalism Historians Association National Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Wedad Elmaghraby, professor of operations management and management science, was awarded the 2021 Distinguished Service Award by the Manufacturing and Service Operations Management Society.

Higher education Professor Sharon Fries-Britt was recognized with the 2021 Social Justice in Education Award from the American Educational Research Association.

Marccus Hendricks, assistant professor in the School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, was appointed to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Science Advisory Board and Springer Nature’s new U.S. Research Advisory Council.

HighT-Tech, a UMD spinoff company from Liangbing Hu, Herbert Rabin Distinguished Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and director of the Center for Materials Innovation, won the Spinoff Prize 2021, a Nature Research award supported by Merck KGaA of Darmstadt, Germany.

Assistant Professor of finance Serhiy Kozak won the Fama-DFA Prize for the best paper published in the Journal of Financial Economics in the areas of capital markets and asset pricing.

Department of Aerospace Engineering Associate Professor Stuart Laurence was elected to the grade of Associate Fellow-Class of 2022 in the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

Dave Levin, an assistant professor of computer science and core faculty member in the Maryland Cybersecurity Center, was selected join 23 other scientists and policy experts serving on the Forum on Cyber Resilience, managed by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine.

Laurie Locascio, vice president for research at the University of Maryland and Fischell Department of Bioengineering professor, was nominated by President Joe Biden to serve as undersecretary for standards and technology in the U.S. Department of Commerce.

Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor K.J. Ray Liu was named a 2021 Distinguished Alumni of National Taiwan University by its Alumni Selection Committee.

Lindsey May, assistant clinical professor and assistant director of the architecture program, won a 2021 League Prize from the Architectural League’s Prize for Young Architects + Designers contest.

Margaret Palmer, entomology professor and director of the National Socio-Environmental Synthesis Center, received the Helmholtz International Fellowship Award for Excellent Researchers.

Bruno Pellegrino, assistant professor in the Robert H. Smith School of Business, won the 2021 Charles River Associates Award for the best paper on corporate finance.

Sociology Professor Rashawn Ray was given the American Sociological Association’s Public Understanding of Sociology Award.

Computer science Professor William Regli was appointed to the Computing Community Consortium by the Computing Research Association, in consultation with the National Science Foundation.

Rachelle Sampson, associate professor of logistics, business and public policy, received the inaugural Panmure House Prize from the Edinburgh Business School at Heriot-Watt University in partnership with FCLTGlobal and funded by Baillie Gifford.

Professor of art Foon Sham received a 2021 Outstanding Educator Award from the International Sculpture Center.

Aravind Srinivasan, a Distinguished University Professor of computer science, was selected to receive a 2021 Distinguished Career Award from the Washington Academy of Sciences.

Journalism Professor Linda Steiner was named a member of the International Communication Association Fellows Class of 2021.

Jennifer Sturge, adjunct professor in the College of Information Studies, was inaugurated into the Library Journal’s Movers and Shakers class of 2021.

Eric Wachsman, founding director of the Maryland Energy Innovation Institute and Crentz Centennial Chair in Energy Research, was elected president of the Electrochemical Society.

Chunsheng Wang, chemical engineering professor and director of the Center for Research in Extreme Batteries, won the 2021 Battery Division Research Award offered by the Electrochemical Society.

Sacoby Wilson, associate professor with the Maryland Institute for Applied Environmental Health and Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, was appointed to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Science Advisory Board and by Aclima to serve on its advisory board of leaders in climate action and environmental justice.

Have an accolade to share with the campus community? Email it to Liam Farrell at for inclusion in this listing, which appears twice each semester.

Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.