Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now

Terp Takes Home Lacrosse’s Highest Honor

Taylor Becomes First Goalie to Win Tewaaraton Award

By Maryland Athletics Staff

Megan Taylor

Photos courtesy of Maryland Athletics

Megan Taylor, the first goalie to ever win the Tewaaraton Award, notched a .551 save percentage this season and helped lead the Terps to a national title.

Goalkeeper Megan Taylor was named the recipient of the Tewaaraton Award, becoming the first goalkeeper ever to earn the honor, last night at the National Museum of the American Indian. 

The Tewaaraton Award, in its 19th year, annually honors the nation's top male and top female college lacrosse players. Midfielder Jen Giles as well as attack Jared Bernhardt from the men's squad were also finalists.

Megan Taylor wins Tewaaraton Award"Huge thank you and credit go out to my amazing parents and family, the most incredible coaches anyone can ask for and to my Terps—I wouldn't be up here without you," Taylor said. "For the past four years, you guys have impacted my life more than you could ever imagine. I love you all so much. Forever Terp Time." 

Taylor was only the second goalkeeper ever to be a finalist for the award, and is also the sixth winner from the women's lacrosse team, which has nine total awards. Jen Adams won the first Tewaaraton Award in 2001, and Caitlyn Phipps earned the honor in 2010. Katie Schwarzmann won back-to-back awards in 2012 and 2013, and Taylor Cummings became the first-ever three-time winner from 2014–16. Zoe Stukenberg took home the honor in 2017.

A senior co-captain this season, Taylor had a .551 save percentage (217 saves to 177 goals allowed), the best mark of any power-five goalie in the country. She was named the NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player after posting 14 saves to 13 goals allowed in the Final Four and securing 10 saves in the National Championship against Boston College. She also was named the Big Ten Goaltender of the Year, becoming the first player to win her position's award four years in a row. The Glenelg, Md., native was a three-time IWLCA National Player of the Week and won the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week a conference-record six times in a row. 

Taylor finished her Maryland career with a remarkable 84–4 record in goal and a .512 save percentage with 740 saves, the second-highest of any Maryland goalie in program history. She won two national championships, seven conference championships and never lost a game at home. 

"To go through the career and season that she had, I'm just so happy for her that she received the highest honor in the sport," Head Coach Cathy Reese said. "Huge honor for her, our university, and the goalie position."



Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.