Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now
Campus & Community

Faculty and Staff Accolades

A Roundup of Recent Awards and Accomplishments

By Maryland Today Staff

Illustration of trophy on yellow background

Illustration by Ryumi Sung

Below are some of the awards and honors University of Maryland faculty and staff have earned since February:

Architecture Professor Matthew Bell was named a 2022 fellow by the Congress for the New Urbanism.

American studies Associate Professor La Marr Jurelle Bruce received the 2022 Nicolás Cristóbal Guillén Batista Outstanding Book Award from the Caribbean Philosophical Association for his 2021 book, “How to Go Mad Without Losing Your Mind.”

Assistant Professors Lei Chen (mathematics), Alicia Kollár (physics) and Pratyush Tiwary (chemistry and biochemistry) received 2022 Sloan Research Fellowships from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

John Horty, professor of philosophy and affiliate professor in the University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies and the Department of Computer Science, was awarded a Humboldt Research Award by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation of Germany.

Communication Professor Trevor Parry-Giles and Associate Professor of Japanese Lindsay Yotsukura were named 2022 community fellows with the Humane Metrics in the Humanities and Social Sciences initiative.

A team of urban designers, including architecture Lecturer Marques King, received a 2022 Charter Award from the Congress for the New Urbanism in the Neighborhood, District and Corridor Category for a project in Seaside, Fla.

Amna Kirmani, the Ralph J. Tyser Professor of Marketing, was named a 2022 fellow of the Society for Consumer Psychology.

William Ming Liu, professor and chair of the Department of Counseling, Higher Education and Special Education, received the 2022 Janet E. Helms Award for Mentoring and Scholarship.

Laurie Locascio, former vice president for research for both UMD and the University of Maryland, Baltimore, was confirmed by the U.S. Senate to serve as undersecretary for standards and technology in the Department of Commerce, and director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Astronomy Professor Richard Mushotzky was awarded the American Astronomical Society’s 2022 Henry Norris Russell Lectureship.

School psychology Associate Professor Colleen O’Neal received the Shapiro Mid-Career Award.

Devon Payne-Sturges, an associate professor with the Maryland Institute for Applied Environmental Health, was recognized for having one of the top papers of 2021 by Environmental Health Perspectives. Payne-Sturges’s commentary advocated for five strategies to help combat environmental racism.

A multinational team of journalists that included Dana Priest, the Knight Chair in Public Affairs Journalism, won a George Polk Award in Technology Reporting for “The Pegasus Project.” Their investigation found that military-grade Israeli spyware intended for tracking terrorists and criminals was used by authoritarian governments to hack the smartphones of journalists, activists and business executives around the world.

Finance Professor Clifford Rossi was selected by the Food and Drug Administration to serve on its Pharmaceutical Science and Clinical Pharmacology Advisory Committee.

The readers of Unique Venues magazine selected UMD as the 2021 winner for “Best Venue for Locally Sourced Catering” and runner-up in the category “Best Venue for Weddings.”

Linda Zou, assistant professor in the Department of Psychology, received the National Science Foundation’s Faculty Early Career Development Program award.

Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.