Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now
Campus & Community

Faculty and Staff Accolades

A Roundup of Recent Awards and Accomplishments

By Maryland Today Staff

Illustration of trophy on yellow background

Illustration by Ryumi Sung

Below are some of the awards and honors University of Maryland faculty and staff have earned since November:

Associate Research Scientist Keith Arnaud and Adjunct Associate Professor Brad Cenko from the Department of Astronomy were honored with the High Energy Astrophysics Division Innovation Prize and Mid-Career Prize, respectively.

Professor of English and comparative literature Ralph Bauer was awarded the Modern Language Association of America’s Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for Comparative Literary Studies for his work “The Alchemy of Conquest: Science, Religion and the Secrets of the New World.”

Tom Bettag, a lecturer at the Philip Merrill College of Journalism, will be inducted into the National Capital Chesapeake Bay Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences’ Gold Circle.  

William Bowerman, professor and chair of the Department of Environmental Science and Technology; Sarah Eno, professor in the Department of Physics; and Leslie Pick, professor and chair of the Department of Entomology, were named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Sociology Professor Jude Cassidy was awarded the 2021 Bowlby-Ainsworth Award for "her contributions to the theory of attachment representations, her role in elevating attachment scholarship, and her generous mentoring in the Bowlby-Ainsworth tradition.”

Lei Chen, an assistant professor of mathematics, Alicia Kollár, an assistant professor of physics and Pratyush Tiwary, an assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry with a joint appointment in the Institute for Physical Science and Technology, received 2022 Sloan Research Fellowships—two-year, $75,000 awards to early-career researchers for distinguished performance and potential to advance their fields.

Computer science Professor Rance Cleaveland and electrical and computer engineering Professor Carol Espy-Wilson and were elevated to fellows by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

John Erwin, professor and chair in the Department of Plant Science and Landscape Architecture, was appointed to the USDA’s new Urban Agriculture and Innovation Production Federal Advisory Committee.

Michael Fu, the Smith Chair of Management Science, won the 2021 INFORMS Saul Gass Expository Writing award.

Cara Grant, director of the Master’s Certificate in Physical Education Program, was recognized with a presidential citation from the Society of Health and Physical Education.

Kimberly A. Griffin, professor and associate dean at the College of Education, was named as a top Edu-Scholar by Education Week.

Anil K. Gupta, the Michael D. Dingman Chair in Strategy and Entrepreneurship, was named in the 2021 Thinkers50 global ranking of management thinkers.

Musicology Professor Barbara Haggh-Huglo was elected an honorary member of the American Musicological Society.

Nine current and former UMD engineering researchers were named 2021 Highly Cited Researchers by Clarivate: Liangbing (Bing) Hu, Yifei Mo, Christopher Monroe, Michael Pecht, Chunsheng Wang, Chaoji Chen, Ji Chen, Jiaqi Dai and Yonggang Yao.

Computer science Professor Jonathan Katz was named a fellow by the Association for Computing Machinery.

Donald Kettl, professor emeritus and former dean of the School of Public Policy, received the American Society for Public Administration’s Dwight Waldo Award for outstanding contributions to the professional literature of public administration.

Rafael Lorente, the associate dean for academic affairs at the Philip Merrill College of Journalism, was appointed to the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications Accrediting Committee.

Pat McNamee, a lecturer in accounting and information assurance, was reappointed to the Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board for a second five-year term.

Catherine Nakalembe, an associate research professor in the Department of Geographical Sciences, was awarded the Golden Jubilee Medal, Uganda’s highest civilian award, for her efforts to improve food security in Africa.

Rochelle Newman, chair of the Department of Hearing and Speech Sciences, was named a fellow of the Acoustical Society of America.

Sociology Professor Rashawn Ray received the Mani L. Bhaumik Award for Public Engagement with Science from the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Senior Vice President and Provost Jennifer King Rice and education Professor Peter Afflerbach were honored as fellows by the American Educational Research Association.

Chemistry and Biochemistry Professor YuHuang Wang was named fellow of the American Physical Society.

Family science Senior Lecturer Kerry Weil Tripp was recognized with the Cognella Innovation in Teaching Award for Family Science.

Department of Aerospace Engineering Minta Martin Professor Norman Wereley was named a Royal Aeronautical Society fellow.

Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.