Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now

Terp Wins 2022 Tewaaraton Award, Highest Honor in College Lacrosse

By Maryland Athletics Staff

Maryland attackman Logan Wisnauskas last night was named the 2022 Tewaaraton Award winner, the most prestigious honor in college lacrosse.

Wisnauskas racked up 61 goals, 42 assists and 103 points in a season that ended with the team winning the NCAA Championship on Monday. The leader of a historic Maryland offense, the fifth-year student averaged over 5.7 points per game and 14 hat tricks.

Wisnauskas rocketed up the record books this year, becoming the record holder for points in a season (103), goals in a career (205) and points in a career (340). He finishes his career fourth all-time in career goals and 11th all-time in career points among NCAA Division 1 men's lacrosse players.

The Sykesville, Maryland, native becomes Maryland’s third winner of the Tewaaraton, which the Tewaaraton Foundation awards to the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. He follows Jared Bernhardt (2021) and Matt Rambo (2017) and makes Maryland only the second school to have two consecutive Tewaaraton winners, following Albany in 2014 and 2015.

The top pick in the 2022 PLL Draft, Wisnauskas was a First Team All-American by every major outlet. He was named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and Lt. Raymond J. Enners Outstanding Player of the Year by the USILA.

He is now an eight-time Big Ten offensive player after earning three more this season. More importantly, he earned his third Big Ten regular season title and second Big Ten Tournament title.

Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.