Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now

Terp Named Best Men’s College Lacrosse Player as Tewaaraton Winner

By Maryland Athletics Staff

Jared Bernhardt ’21 on Saturday was named the winner of the 2021 Tewaaraton Award, which recognizes the best male and female collegiate lacrosse players.

He led Maryland to one of the program's greatest campaigns in its 96-season history, as the Terrapins advanced to the national championship game, captured the Big Ten regular-season and tournament titles and won 15 straight games.

The Longwood, Fla. native this year set new Maryland single-season records for goals (71) and points (99) while setting new career records for a Terp in goals (202) and points (290). He also now holds the Maryland records for goals in a single NCAA tournament (18) and points in a single tournament (24).

Bernhardt became just the eighth four-time USILA All-American in program history, garnering First Team honors, and was named the program's fifth-ever Lt. Raymond J. Enners Outstanding Player of the Year honoree. He was also tabbed as an Inside Lacrosse First Team All-American.

The 2021 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year led the nation in scoring, averaging 6.27 points per game and 4.60 goals per game. He posted 13 games of at least three goals, while recording nine games of five goals or more in 2021.

Bernhardt set new career-highs in Maryland's Big Ten semifinal win over Michigan, where he was named the tournament MVP, tallying a career-best 10 points and eight goals in the 16-8 victory. Bernhardt was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week five times this season, the most ever by a player in a single season in conference history.

He becomes the second Terp Tewaaraton winner, joining Matt Rambo (2017) as a Maryland honoree since the award's inception in 2001. Bernhardt is Maryland's first two-time Tewaaraton finalist.

Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.