Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now

No. 1 Men’s Lacrosse Team Wins Regular-Season Big Ten Title

By Maryland Athletics Staff

The No. 1 Maryland men’s lacrosse team captured its fifth regular-season Big Ten championship with an 18-8 win over No. 12 Ohio State on Sunday evening at Capital One Field at Maryland Stadium.

The Terps, who also won the crown in 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018, have now claimed the Big Ten regular-season title in five of six full seasons played since they joined the conference in 2014-15. (Due to COVID-19, a title was not awarded last season.) Overall, this is Maryland’s 42nd conference regular-season or tournament championship, including 35 as members of the ACC.

The victory continued the team’s perfect season, with the Terps winning all nine games this year by at least four goals. The last time Maryland started a season at 9-0 was in 1987, when it went 12-0 before losing to Johns Hopkins in the NCAA semifinals.

All-time leading goal-scorer Jared Bernhardt led the Terps on Sunday with a career-high-tying six goals, extending his UMD record to 170, and he added an assist for seven points. Attacker Daniel Maltz tallied four goals and an assist for a five-point game, and attacker Logan Wisnauskas had a goal and two assists for three points.

Goalie Logan McNaney, who recorded 12 saves, also added to the offensive effort by scoring his first career goal, believed to be the first scored by a Terp goalie since Jim Beardmore against UMBC on May 4, 1985.

The Terps finish the regular season at Johns Hopkins at 2 p.m. Saturday. The game will air on ESPNU.

Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.