Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now

Lacrosse Programs Net Inside Lacrosse ‘Best of the Decade’ Honors

By Maryland Athletics Staff

The University of Maryland men’s and women’s lacrosse teams both earned recognition in Inside Lacrosse magazine’s new “Best of the Decade” edition.

Men’s Head Coach John Tillman was named Coach of the Decade, while women’s Head Coach Cathy Reese took home the honor on the women’s side. Also from the women’s team, Taylor Cummings (2013–16) was named Midfielder of the Decade, Megan Douty (2012–15) was named Defender of the Decade, and the program overall was named Program of the Decade.

Since arriving in 2011, Tillman has led the Terps to one of their most successful eras in school history, highlighted in 2017 when Maryland captured its first NCAA national championship since 1975. With Tillman at the helm, UMD has been to seven Final Fours and five national title games, accumulating a 122–38 record.

Reese, the winningest coach in program history, guided the Terps to a 215–14 record in the decade, only losing in College Park one time. She was the quickest women's lacrosse coach ever to 300 wins and now stands seventh all-time with 301. This past year, Reese was inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

Cummings, the only lacrosse player to earn the Tewaaraton Award three times, was a First Team All-American in each of her four years at Maryland and a two-time NCAA Most Outstanding Player. She is the all-time UMD leader in draw controls (509) and ranks third in career goals (220) and second in points (323). The Maryland native went on to win a world championship with Team USA in 2017 and now plays for the Women’s Professional Lacrosse League (WPLL) Fight and is the head coach at the McDonogh School.

Douty was a two-time IWLCA National Defender of the Year and conference Defender of the Year (2014, 2015). Like Cummings, Douty was an integral part of the 2017 Team USA world championship team, while suiting up for the WPLL Command.

From 2010–19, the women’s team won five national championships and 16 conference titles, made 10 Final Fours and had eight Tewaaraton winners, 20 National Players of the Year and 52 All-Americans—all the most in the sport.

Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.