Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now
Campus & Community

Accolades: Faculty and Staff Awards and Honors

A Roundup of Recent Accomplishments

By Maryland Today Staff

GIF of Testudo statue with red, black, white and gold arrows

Animation by Maryland Today staff

Below are awards and honors University of Maryland faculty and staff have earned since mid-February:

Vikrant Aute, research professor and co-director of the Center for Environmental Energy Engineering, was named a fellow by the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers.

Bioengineering Professor William E. Bentley, director of the Robert E. Fischell Institute for Biomedical Devices and of the Maryland Technology Enterprise Institute, was awarded the Professional Impact Award in Mentoring by the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.

Abhinav Bhatele, associate professor of computer science with a joint appointment in the University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies, received the IEEE Technical Committee on Scalable Computing Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing for Middle Career Researchers.

Electrical and computer engineering Professor Rama Chellappa was named the 2024 Edwin H. Land Medal recipient from Optica and the Society for Imaging Science and Technology.

Po-Yen Chen, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, received the Shining Star Award from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

Tamara Clegg, assistant professor in the College of Information Studies, received the 2024 Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award from the American Educational Research Association.

Joseph Criscuoli, marketing, sales, publications and outreach coordinator with Conferences & Visitor Services, received the Outstanding Individual Achievement Award from the Association of Collegiate Conference and Events Directors-International.

Government and politics Professor Sarah Croco, director of the Honors College’s Global Communities program was invited to join Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines.

Aerospace engineering Associate Professor Anubhav Datta was named technical fellow by the Vertical Flight Society for his research and academic leadership in the rotorcraft aeromechanics discipline.

Leila De Floriani, professor of geographical sciences, was appointed to the board of the Scientific Council of the Italian Scientists and Scholars in North America Foundation.

Department of Psychology Chair Michael Dougherty received the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke’s 2023 NINDS Rigor Champions Prize.

José Feijó, professor of cell biology and molecular genetics and a scholar in the field of plant developmental biology, received the Regents Faculty Award for Excellence in Scholarship or Research from the University System of Maryland Board of Regents.

Geographical sciences Associate Professor Kuishuang Feng and Ph.D. student Xiangjie Chen were honored with the 2024 Highly Cited Paper Awards from Advances in Applied Energy.

Trevor Foulk, associate professor of management and organization, received the Society of Industrial Organizational Psychology’s Distinguished Early Career Contributions award in science.

John Haltiwanger, Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Economics, was named a 2024 Distinguished Fellow of the American Economic Association.

Matthew Hansen, a professor in the Department of Geographical Sciences, received the William T. Pecora Award.

“The Soldier’s Opinion,” a documentary that grew out of Associate Professor of history Shay Hazkani’s book, “Dear Palestine: A Social History of the 1948 War,” received the American Historical Association’s John E. O’Connor Film Award

P.K. Kannan, Dean’s Chair in Marketing Science and Professor of Marketing, is the winner of the European Marketing Academy Distinguished Scholar Award 2024.

College of Education Professor Melanie Killen and Professor Emeritus Allan Wigfield were elected to membership in the National Academy of Education. They were among the 14 leaders and scholars recognized in 2024.

The New England Educational Opportunity Association Board of Directors named Jerry L. Lewis, UMD's Academic Achievement Programs executive director, recipient of the 2024 Disguised Claiborne Pell Award.

K.J. Ray Liu, retired Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, was elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

Electrical and computer engineering Professor Dinesh Manocha was inducted in the IEEE Visualization and Graphic Technical Community’s Virtual Reality Academy.

Celina McDonald, UMD Libraries’ government information and criminology librarian, was awarded the 2024 Bernadine Abbott Hoduski Founders Award for Federal Government Information by the Government Documents Round Table of the American Library Association.

Sarah McGrew, assistant professor in the Department of Teaching and Learning, Policy and Leadership, won the Middle States Council for Social Studies’ Harry J. Carmen Award.

Associate Professor Irina Muresanu of the School of Music was elected to the European Academy for Sciences and the Arts.

Kristopher Oliveira, director of the LGBTQ+ Equity Center, received the American College Personnel Association Annuit Coeptis-Emerging Professional award.

School of Public Policy Professor Susan Parker was honored with the award of honorary professor from the Catholic University of Peru.

Sasha Philippov, assistant professor of physics, received a 2024 Sloan Research Fellowship.

Jandelyn "Jan" Plane, principal lecturer emerita of computer science, received the 2024 Award for Broadening Participation in Computing Education by the Association for Computing Machinery's Special Interest Group on Computer Science Education.

Historic preservation Lecturer John H. Sprinkle Jr. received the Richard W. Leopold Prize from the Organization of American Historians and the T. Michael Miller Award from the Alexandria Historical Society in Virginia.

Ebony Terrell Shockley, associate dean for undergraduate studies and educator preparation in the College of Education, was named editor of the Chronicle of Middle-Level Education Research SIG and awards chair for the Research for Black Education SIG by the American Educational Research Association.

Ichiro Takeuchi, professor of materials science and engineering, was elected a fellow of the Materials Research Society.

Wade Winkler, professor of cell biology and molecular genetics, was elected to fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology.

Janelle Wong, professor of American studies and of government and politics and director of the Asian American Studies Program, is one of eight new fellows inducted into the American Academy of Political and Social Science as the W.E.B. Du Bois Fellow.

Nicole Yunger Halpern, a fellow in the Joint Center for Quantum Information and Computer Science, was awarded the 2024 Hermann Weyl Prize.

Hannah Zierden, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, was named one of the Nanoscale 2024 Emerging Investigators by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Know of a faculty or staff honor that should be included in this quarterly compilation? Please contact your unit’s communications lead and

Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.