Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now
Campus & Community

Terp Staff Hailed for Outstanding Service

Employees Across Campus Receive New Terrapin Innovation and MVP Impact Awards

By Maryland Today Staff

University of Maryland gate

Campus leaders announced the recipients of two new staff awards recently, lauding recipients for their service.

Photo by Riley N. Sims

Senior Vice President and Provost Jennifer King Rice, Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer Carlo Colella, Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion Georgina Dodge and Vice President for Student Affairs Patty Perillo sent the following email to the campus community:

As we all prepare for the start of a new semester, we’d like to take this opportunity to acknowledge all of our staff who play an integral role in the operation of our university and advancement of our academic, co-curricular and research enterprises.

Today, we’d especially like to recognize members of our staff who have demonstrated outstanding service to our university and their colleagues, and a commitment to improving our workplace. Therefore, it is with great pleasure that we share with you the recipients of our inaugural Terrapin Innovation and MVP Impact Awards.

From being a champion collaborator to developing impactful projects and initiatives, these 26 UMD staff members across the university have demonstrated their commitment to move our university Fearlessly Forward:

Terrapin Innovation Award
Recognizes staff members for new ideas that capture the spirit of moving Fearlessly Forward with innovative and creative thinking.

  • Lisa Alexander, Department of Resident Life, Coordinator for Sustainability Programs
  • Jennifer Daszczyszak, The Clarice, Costume Shop Manager
  • Sarah Grun, College of Information Studies, Manager, Strategic Initiatives and Projects
  • Brent Hernandez, The Graduate School, Director of Graduate Student Services
  • T.C. Lloyd, College of Behavioral and Social Sciences, Advising and Career Planning Assistant Program Manager
  • Caitlin Rudy, Department of Computer Science, Program Manager, Industry Partnerships, I4C and Break Through Tech
  • Erin Schlegel, Department of Resident Life, Assistant Director of Communities
  • Kia Weeden, Department of Resident Life, Assistant to the Director
award winners pose
Photo by John T. Consoli

MVP Impact Award
Recognizes staff members who, over the past year, have demonstrated a Fearlessly Forward attitude of excellence, amazing service and outstanding contributions.

  • Claudia M. Gonzalez Arevalo, Facilities Management Building Services, Housekeeper
  • Vivre Bell, Department of Geographical Sciences, Director of Administrative Services
  • Mel Coles, Department of Computer Science, Special Events Coordinator
  • Amy Eichhorst, University Relations, Assistant Vice President, Alumni and Donor Relations
  • Lattisha Hall, Teaching and Learning, Policy and Leadership, Business Manager
  • Emily Hightower, Environmental Safety, Sustainability & Risk, Project Manager, Sustainability Measurement & Outreach
  • Jessica Houchens, Department of Government and Politics, Assistant Director
  • Jacqueline Kautzer, Office of Undergraduate Studies, Director of Administration
  • Brian Medina, Office of Diversity and Inclusion, Director of Bias Incident Support Services
  • Paula Barriga Sanchez, Office of Undergraduate Studies - Army ROTC, Coordinator
  • Carolyn Schupbach, College of Behavioral and Social Sciences Dean's Office, Executive Director
  • James Spring, University Libraries, Manager, Library Services Unit
  • Kristen Stack Tepper, School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, Director of Student Services
  • Veronica Turcios, Dining Services, Assistant Director for Human Resources
  • Marshal F. Washington, Department of African American and Africana Studies, Assistant Program Director and Academic Advisor
  • Sarah Williamson, Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs, Assistant Director of Administrative Operations
  • Carl Womack, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Director of Finance
  • Amy Jeanne Yaich, Department of Entomology, Program Administrative Specialist

This is a major milestone in our ongoing work to invest in people and communities—work that has been influenced by feedback directly from our staff. We look forward to sharing over the coming year updates on additional initiatives in support of this work, including a new Excellence in Supervision training program, recommendations from our Career Pathways Work Group and a review to ensure fair and competitive compensation practices.

Please join us in congratulating our colleagues on their fearless achievements!


Jennifer King Rice signature

Jennifer King Rice
Senior Vice President and Provost

Carlo Colella signature

Carlo Colella
Vice President & Chief Administrative Officer

Georgina Dodge signature

Georgina Dodge, Ph.D.
Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion

Patty Perillo Signature

Patty Perillo
Vice President for Student Affairs

Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.