Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now
Campus & Community

Faculty and Staff Accolades

A Roundup of Recent Awards and Accomplishments

By Maryland Today Staff

ilustration of a trophy cup

Illustration by Ryumi Sung

Below are some of the awards and honors University of Maryland faculty and staff have earned since September:

Professor of German studies Hester Baer was named co-editor of The German Quarterly, the flagship journal in the field.

Van Bailey, director of Bias Incident Support Services, was featured in Out Magazine’s OUT100 list as one of the LGBTQ+ policymakers and advocates changing the world.

Minta Martin Professor and Department of Mechanical Engineering Chair Balakumar Balachandran won both the 2021 J.P. Den Hartog and 2021 Lyapunov Awards from the American Society of Mechanical Engineering.

Robert E. Fischell Institute for Biomedical Devices Director and Fischell Department of Bioengineering Professor William E. Bentley received the 2021 American Institute of Chemical Engineers Society for Biological Engineering Daniel I.C. Wang Award for Excellence in Biochemical Engineering.

English Professor Tita Chico was listed on The Daily Record’s "Power 30 Higher Education in the State of Maryland."

Andres “Andy” De Los Reyes, psychology professor, earned a 2021 Presidential Citation from the American Psychological Association.

Entomology Professor Emeritus Galen Dively received the Entomological Society of America’s Plant-Insect Ecosystems Lifetime Achievement Award.

Gregg Duncan, assistant professor in the Fischell Department of Bioengineering, received the 2021 Biomedical Engineering Society’s Rita Schaffer Young Investigator Award.

Minta Martin Professor of Physics Mohammad Hafezi was elected a fellow of the American Physical Society.

Fischell Department of Bioengineering Minta Martin Professor of Engineering Christopher M. Jewell was named a fellow of the Biomedical Engineering Society.

Professor Carol L. Keefer in the Department of Animal and Avian Science won the 2022 Pioneer Award of the International Embryo Technology Society.

Matthew Kirschenbaum, professor of English and digital studies, was appointed as the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Society for the History of Authorship, Reading, and Publishing (SHARP).

Behavioral and Community Health Professor Cheryl Knott was named editor-in-chief of the journal Translational Behavioral Medicine.

Virginia Gov. Ralph Northam, lawmakers, historians and family members joined historic preservation Professor Donald Linebaugh to unveil a historic marker commemorating Kippax Plantation, an active archeological heritage site overseen by Linebaugh.

Amy J. Nelson, research associate at the Center for International and Security Studies at Maryland, was appointed a Brookings Institution Rubenstein Fellow.

Mirosław J. Skibniewski, professor of construction engineering and project management in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, was elected to the National Academy of Construction.

Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan nominated Laura Stapleton, interim dean of the College of Education, to the Blueprint for Maryland’s Future Accountability and Implementation Board, which plans to close student achievement gaps and transform the state’s education system over the next decade.

Stephen Thomas, professor of health policy and management and director of the Maryland Center for Health Equity, was recognized by the Maryland Public Health Association for his “Shots at the Shop” COVID-19 vaccine initiative.

Sacoby Wilson, associate professor in the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics and Maryland Institute for Applied Environmental Health, received the Maryland League of Conservation Voter’s John V. Kabler Memorial Award.

Min Wu, professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and associate dean of engineering, was named president-elect of the IEEE Signal Processing Society, the first woman of color to be elected for the position.

Distinguished University Professor Ruth Enid Zambrana in the Harriet Tubman Department of Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, received the 2021 Lyndon Haviland Public Health Mentoring Award from the American Public Health Association.

Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.