Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now

Terp Earns Honda Award for Lacrosse

By Maryland Today Staff

A Terps lacrosse goalkeeper on Monday won the Honda Sport Award, presented annually by the Collegiate Women Sports Awards to the top female athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports.

Megan Taylor is now a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the Class of 2019 Honda Cup, which will be presented on a live telecast on CBS Sports Network at 9 p.m. Monday.

"I was fortunate to play with the best teammates and for the most amazing coaches in the world, and this wouldn't be possible without them and all their hard work,” Taylor said. “My time at Maryland was truly the best four years of my life, and I'm so grateful to forever be a Terp."

Chosen by a vote of administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools, Taylor is the fifth Terp to win the Honda Award. Zoe Stukenberg earned the honor in 2017, and Taylor Cummings won three years in a row from 2014–16. Current Assistant Coach Caitlyn Phipps won in 2010, while Jen Adams was recognized in 2000 and 2001.

Taylor became the first goalie to win the Tewaaraton Award after leading Maryland to the 2019 national championship by sporting a .551 save percentage, the best of any power-five goalie in the country. She was also named the IWLCA National Player of the Year, a First Team All-American and the NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player.

"She is such an amazing person, goalie, leader and teammate and is so deserving of all the recognition she has earned this year,” Head Coach Cathy Reese said. “This is an incredible honor for both Megan and our program."

Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.