Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now

Reese, Forbes Selected to National Lacrosse Hall of Fame

By Maryland Today Staff

Maryland women’s lacrosse Head Coach Cathy Reese and former Terps teammate and pro player Sarah Forbes have been selected for induction into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame’s Class of 2019. They will be inducted in a ceremony on Oct. 19 in Hunt Valley, Md.

Reese, who played at Maryland (1995–98), was an assistant coach (1998–2003) and now serves as the head coach (2007–present), became the program’s all-time winningest coach this season. She holds a 268–22 record at the helm, has led UMD to four national titles and has coached seven Tewaaraton Award winners, 16 Tewaaraton finalists and 57 All-Americans. She is an 11-time conference coach of the year.

As a player, Reese was a two-time All-American and First Team All-ACC (1997, 1998) and the 1998 NCAA Tournament Most Valuable Player. The attacker won a national championship in each of her four years as a student-athlete. In total, she has 11 national titles. The Terps are playing Friday in their 11th straight Final Four.

This past year, Reese was inducted into the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame and will be enshrined into the DC Sports Hall of Fame this summer. She is also in the Howard County (Md.) Women's Athletic Hall of Fame, the US Lacrosse Potomac Chapter's Hall of Fame and the US Lacrosse Greater Baltimore Chapter's Hall of Fame.

Forbes was a three-time All-American at Maryland. In 1997, she was the national offensive player of the year and ACC player of the year, and won the ACC's Mary Garber Award as its top female athlete. She helped lead the Terps to three straight NCAA titles (1995–97) as well as the ACC championship in 1997. She was named to the NCAA's 25th Anniversary Team in 2006.

As an international player, Forbes was a member of the Australian World Cup team four times (1993, 2001, 2005, 2009), helping the Aussies capture the gold medal in 2005, as well as two silver and one bronze. She earned All-World honors in both 2005 and 2009, and was named tournament MVP in 2005. She was inducted into the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame in 2012.

Tickets for the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be available beginning Aug. 1 at

Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.