Skip Navigation

Produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications

Subscribe Now

Program to Prepare Future Research Leaders Announces Inaugural Cohort

By Maryland Today Staff

Eighteen faculty members from across the university will participate in the new Research Leaders Fellows Program, designed to help expand their impact and compete for significant multidisciplinary awards, the Division of Research announced today.

Announced by UMD President Darryll J. Pines in his first message to the campus, the program is designed to lead to cross-disciplinary teams and projects that create major impacts in areas of research critical to society.

The group, composed of researchers from every school and college at UMD, will begin meeting next month; current UMD research leaders will mentor them as they learn to combine their expertise and approach problems in novel ways.

"I’m tremendously impressed with the accomplishments of our inaugural cohort," said Vice President for Research Laurie E. Locascio. "I look forward to meeting and working with them throughout the program. We are fortunate to have such rising stars at UMD."

Members of the inaugural class of fellows are:

Lindsey Anderson, associate professor of communication
Akua Asa-Awuku, associate professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering
Marine Carpuat, assistant professor of computer science
Alisa Clyne, associate professor of bioengineering
Siddhartha Das, associate professor of mechanical engineering
Dawn Dow, associate professor of sociology
Vanessa Frias-Martinez, associate professor of information studies
Quentin Gaudry, associate professor of biology
Meredith Gore, associate professor of geographical sciences
Ming Hu, assistant professor of architecture, planning and preservation
Eliza Kempton, associate professor of astronomy
Stephanie Lansing, associate professor of environmental science and technology
Richard Prather, assistant professor of human development and quantitative methodology
Robin Puett, associate professor of applied environmental health
Krishnan Vasudevan, assistant professor of journalism
Margrét Vilborg Bjarnadóttir, associate professor of management science and statistics
Jade Wexler, associate professor of special education
Katrina Walsemann, associate professor of public policy

Maryland Today is produced by the Office of Marketing and Communications for the University of Maryland community on weekdays during the academic year, except for university holidays.