Below are some of the awards and honors the University of Maryland's faculty and staff earned this semester:

Jennifer Golbeck, professor, and Niklas Elmqvist, associate professor in the College of Information Studies, have been named Distinguished Members of the Association for Computing Machinery, the world’s largest and most prestigious association of computing professionals. The honor recognizes up to 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field.

Peter Reuter, a professor of criminology and public policy, was awarded the 2019 Stockholm Prize in Criminology, for his breakthroughs with Ruth Dreifuss of Switzerland, president of the Global Commission on Drug Policy, in evidence and policy development on drug abuse. He has spent decades examining the relationship between drug policy and crime. The award, the most prestigious in the field, comes with a prize of $1 million kroner (about $110,000).

The American Physical Society awarded its 2019 Lars Onsager Prize to Christopher Jarzynski, a Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Department of Physics and Institute for Physical Science and Technology. In May, Jarzynski co-authored a study published in the journal Nature Physics that devised and demonstrated a new way to measure “free energy”—the energy available to any system to perform useful work—in extremely small systems. Jarzynski will receive the prize, which recognizes outstanding research in theoretical statistical physics, at the society’s meeting in March in Boston. 

The American Physical Society awarded its 2019 J.J. Sakurai Prize for Theoretical Particle Physics to Raman Sundrum, a Distinguished University Professor of physics. His collaborator on two key papers, Harvard University Physics Professor Lisa Randall, also received the award. They were honored for making a number of theoretical predictions that set off a wave of experiments searching for theoretical subatomic particles—experiments that are still active today, almost two decades later.

Amanda Preperato, assistant director of the Adventure Program in University Recreation and Wellness, was honored during the Association of Outdoor Recreation and Education national conference for winning the Patsy Kott Service Award. It recognizes long-term professional work or service having a lasting impact on the association and its mission. 

Jennifer D. Roberts, assistant professor at the School of Public Health, and Marccus Hendricks, assistant professor in the School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation’s Urban Studies and Planning Program, have been selected by Harvard University’s T.H. Chan School of Public Health as JPB Environmental Health Fellows. The position supports research on the “social and physical determinants of environmental health” with a particular focus on vulnerable communities. Over a three-year period, fellows receive up to $240,000, mentoring and training in methods, skills, new technologies, leadership and communications.

Dining Services was recognized for outstanding achievement in the inclusion of individuals with disabilities in the employment sector by Chi, a nonprofit service provider. Roy Thomason, assistant director at South Campus Dining Hall, and Rob Fahey, general manager of 251 North, were also recognized for their efforts in employing Maryland citizens who have special needs.

Mark Lewis, professor emeritus of aerospace engineering, received the 2018 Theodore von Karman Award from the Air Force Association in recognition of his contributions as the longest-serving chief scientist in the history of the Air Force, his promotion of basic research and contributions in the fields of propulsion and hypersonics.

Belen Franch, associate research professor in the Department of Geographical Sciences and a science collaborator at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, received the NASA Honor Award for Early Career Public Achievement. Franch was honored for her work in NASA Earth Observations, which contribute to a better understanding of the Earth system and its agricultural resources.

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics named John S. Baras, professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the Institute for Systems Research, as the recipient of its 2018 AIAA Aerospace Communications Award. Baras is the Lockheed Martin Endowed Chair in Systems Engineering.

Christopher Jewell, associate professor and associate chair of the Fischell Department of Bioengineering, won the 2018 Young Investigator Award and the Owens Corning Early Career Award from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers for his work in engineering and immunology.

The Association for the Study of Higher Education elected KerryAnn O’Meara, the College of Education’s associate dean for graduate studies and faculty affairs, to serve as president from 2019–20.

Aravind Srinivasan, professor of computer science with an appointment in the Institute for Advanced Computer Studies, was elected a 2018 member of the Academia Europaea, the pan-European academy of science, humanities and letters.

Leila De Floriani, professor in the Department of Geographical Sciences with an appointment in the Institute for Advanced Computer Studies, was chosen to lead the IEEE Computer Society. De Floriani will serve as the society’s 2019 president-elect and 2020 president, providing leadership and direction to the organization’s officers and programs that serve more than 60,000 scientists worldwide.

Elaine Anderson, professor in the School of Public Health’s Department of Family Sciences, was named editor of the National Council on Family Relations research and policy briefs. She will assist in research on families to help inform decisions that affect families at the federal, state and local levels.

Have an accolade to share with the campus community? Email Liam Farrell at